

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning

Annotated Agenda Wednesday, September 11, 2013 9:30 a.m.

Cook County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois

1.0 Call to Order 9:30 a.m.

Mayor Gerald R. Bennett, Board Chair

2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements

Recognition of Mayor Marilyn Michelini and President Michael Gorman for their service to the CMAP Board. Welcome new Board members Thomas Weisner and William Rodeghier.

3.0 Approval of Minutes—June 12, 2013

ACTION REQUESTED: Approval

4.0 Executive Director's Report

- 4.1 CMAP Annual Report
- 4.2 The Freight-Manufacturing Nexus Report
- 4.3 Richton Park Annexation-Unincorporated Cook County Task Force
- 4.4 State Legislative Update
- 4.5 Local Technical Assistance (LTA) Program Update
- 4.6 Overview of October Joint Meeting with MPO Policy Committee
- 4.7 Other Announcements

5.0 Procurements and Contract Approvals

- 5.1 Resolution authorizing an Intergovernmental Agreement with Cook County Assessor's Office for 2011 assessment data
- 5.2 Energy Impact Illinois (EI2) Program Update, No-Cost Grant Extension, and Contract Revisions

ACTION REQUESTED: Approval

6.0 Committee Reports

The chair of the Local Coordinating Committee will provide an update on their August meeting. Written summaries of the working committees and the Citizens' Advisory Committee will also be provided.

ACTION REQUESTED: Informational

7.0 Election of Officers

recommendation

The Nominating Committee will make a recommendation for appointing officers and members of the Executive Committee.

ACTION REQUESTED: Approval of the Nominating Committee

8.0 Examination of Local Economic Development Incentives in Northeastern Illinois

CMAP has issued a new report, Examination of Local Economic Development Incentives in Northeastern Illinois, to analyze how local governments use incentives to attract or retain businesses such as retail stores, auto dealerships, corporate offices, and manufacturing or warehousing industries or encourage the redevelopment of underutilized sites and the construction of affordable housing and mixed-use development. An overview of the report will be presented.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

9.0 GO TO 2040 Update

GO TO 2040 was adopted in October of 2010 and serves as the metropolitan transportation plan for the 7-county Chicago region. The Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP 21) Act was signed into law in 2012, funding surface transportation programs through June of 2014. The law requires that GO TO 2040 be updated by October of 2014. The update will not involve revising the policy recommendations of the existing plan. The financial plan, major capital projects, and implementation action areas will be updated. Staff will present an overview of the update process.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

10.0 Illiana Corridor Public Comments and Process

On September 3, 2013, the public comment period closed on a proposed amendment that would add the Illiana Corridor project to the GO TO 2040 comprehensive regional plan list of fiscally constrained projects. The Board and MPO Policy Committee are scheduled to vote on the amendment in October. Staff will present a memo that summarizes the public comments received and discuss the process moving forward.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

11.0 Other Business

12.0 Public Comment

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be at the chair's discretion. It should be noted that the exact time for the public comment period will immediately follow the last item on the agenda.

13.0 Next Meeting

The Board meets next with the MPO Policy Committee on October 9, 2013

14.0 Adjournment

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Board Members:

Gerald Bennett, Chair	Heather Weed Niehoff	Thomas Weisner
Frank Beal	Raul Raymundo	
Susan Campbell	Rick Reinbold	André Ashmore
Roger Claar	William Rodeghier	Leanne Redden
Elliott Hartstein	Carolyn Schofield	Sean O'Shea
Al Larson	Peter Silvestri	
Andrew Madigan	Rae Rupp Srch	