Regional Planning Board Meeting Meeting Minutes Wednesday, January 11, 2006 9:30 a.m. Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission 800 Sears Tower 233 South Wacker Drive Chicago, Illinois

I. Call to Order

Mayor Gerald Bennett of Palos Hills and Chair of the Regional Planning Board,, called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. The meeting was held in the offices of Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission (NIPC) at 233 South Wacker, Chicago, Illinois. Others present included:

Voting Members

Michael Smith, Vice Chair (Mayor, New Lenox-Will County)

Rita R. Athas, Vice Chair (Deputy Chief of Staff, Mayor's Office, City of Chicago – City of Chicago)

Frank H. Beal, (Executive Director, Chicago Metropolis 2020-City of Chicago)

Zenovia G. Evans, (Mayor, Riverdale-Cook County)

Elliott Hartstein (President, Buffalo Grove-Lake County)

Al Larson (President, Schaumburg-Cook County)

Marilyn Michelini, (President, Montgomery-Kane/Kendall Counties)

Raul Raymundo, (Executive Director, Resurrection Project-City of Chicago)

Rae Rupp Srch, (Former President, Villa Park-DuPage County)

Dan Shea, (McHenry County Board Member-McHenry County)

Nigel F. Telman, (Partner, Sidley, Austin, Brown & Wood-City of Chicago)

Non-Voting Members

Stephen Schlickman, (Executive Director, Regional Transportation Authority, CATS)
Ed Paesel, (Executive Director, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association, NIPC)

Others:

David Bennett, Executive Director, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus

Joyce Hollingsworth, Chaddick Institute DePaul University (Formerly GAP)

Sarah A. Sheehan, Chaddick Institute DePaul University (Formerly GAP)

Joe Schwieterman, Chaddick Institute DePaul University

Brain Fabes, Civic Consulting Alliance

Dan Lynch, Civic Consulting Alliance

Karen B. Greenbaum, Mercer Human Resource Consulting

Randy Blankenhorn, IDOT

Doug McLaughlin, Metra

Rick Curneal, DMMC

Chalen Hunter. NWMC

Heather D. Gates, WCGL

Hugh O'Hara, WCGL

Joe Heinrich, SSMMA

Mike Walczyk, NWMC

Jill Leary, WCMC

Vicky Smith, SCM

Jan Metzger, CNT

Bruce Christensen, Lake County DOT

RPB Minutes January 11, 2006 Page 2

> Marcus Arnold, SSMMA Linda Bolte, NIPC John O'Neal, CHN Stephen T. Vaughn, CCHD Chris DiPalma, FHWA

II. Approval of Minutes – December 14, 2005 Meeting

A motion to approve the minutes of the December 14, 2005 was made by Member Michelini and seconded by Member Rupp Srch. It was unanimously approved.

III. Annual Ethics Statement Filings

Vice Chair Athas reminded board members to file annual statement with respective County Clerks

IV. Update re MacArthur Foundation Support

Dave Bennett reported that the Planning Board's request for a grant to support its first year activities was approved by the MacArthur Foundation Board at its December meeting. He expects to receive the grant agreement shortly.

V. Changes at DePaul University

Professor Joseph Schwieterman, Director of the Chaddick Institute for Metropolitan Development at DePaul University, informed the Board that the Government Assistance Program will be dissolving at the end of January. Chaddick will be assuming GAP's role as stated in the contract with the RPB and Joyce Hollingsworth and Sarah Sheehan will continue their work on the project. Professor Schwieterman stated this project is in line with Chaddick's mission and they are excited to be involved and intend for the transition to be seamless.

VI. Action Plan Status Reports – January-February Tasks

A. Executive Director Search Packet-Motion to Approve

Karen Greenbaum presented a packet of information regarding the Executive Director search to the Board members for review. It included the final job description reflecting input provided by the Board, the job posting, a work plan, a form for submitting candidates and background information on the firm which will assist with the search.

A motion to approve the search packet was made by Member Larson and seconded by Member Michelini. It was unanimously approved.

B. Board Organization Plan

1. Motion to Approve Working Committee Structure

Chairman Bennett presented a proposed working committee structure to the Board. Three additional committees were proposed. They included the Planning & Priorities Committee, to be chaired by Member Larson; the Public Participation Committee, which will be chaired by Member Hartstein and the Transition Committee, which will be chaired by Member Telman. Chairman Bennett asked the Board to volunteer for those committees that they were

interested in. He said that the Executive Committee will make the final assignments.

A motion to approve the working committees was made by Vice Chair Smith and seconded by Member Larson. It was unanimously approved.

Chairman Bennett informed the Chairs of the working committees they are to give regular progress reports on the action plan goals assigned to them beginning at the board's February meeting.

2. Mayor, Brown, Rowe, and Maw

Dan Lynch reported that the Civic Consulting Alliance has secured Mayor, Brown, Rowe, and Maw to assist the Board in developing Bylaws, Articles of Incorporation, and with other legal matters. The lead attorney is David Naresfsky.

C. Staff Organization Plan

Karen Greenbaum stated that she has been meeting with CATS/NIPC directors to gain an understanding of current staff and organizational structure. The Transition Committee will begin to report on these activities next month.

D. Citizen Involvement Plan

Names and bios of candidates for the Citizens Advisory Committee were submitted by the board and audience. They were submitted to the Public Participation Committee.

E. Public Relations Plan

The chair of the Public Participation Committee will begin reporting on this next month.

F. Ongoing Work of CATS & NIPC

The chair of the Transition Committee will begin reporting on this next month.

G. Regional Priorities

The chair of the Planning and Priorities Committee will begin reporting on this next month.

H. Implementation Strategy

The chair of the Planning and Priorities Committee will begin reporting on this next month.

I. Vision of Integrated Land Use and Transportation Planning

The chair of the Planning and Priorities Committee will begin reporting on this month.

J. Funding Plan

There was no report on this goal this month.

VII. Public Comment

Jan Metzger, Center for Neighborhood Technology

Ms. Metzger referred back to her comment at the December meeting stating she wanted to follow up with written suggestions and asked where to direct that statement. Chairman Bennett stated she may submit her statement to the Board today.

VIII. Other Business

Vice Chair Smith stated the first quarterly meeting for NIPC is March 29, 2006 and suggested a joint Open House for NIPC and CATS under the umbrella of the RPB. The Board responded favorably to this suggestion.

IX. Next Meeting – February 8, 2006, 9:00 a.m.

Please note 9:00 a.m. is the correct time for all Board meetings.

X. Adjournment

Member Shea made a motion to adjourn. It was seconded by Member Michelini and passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah A. Sheehan Program Director Chaddick Institute, DePaul University